The first step

After my last post I was very motivated to find a way to get some kind of schedule set up for myself.   I wanted some kind of permanent reminder for myself of what I’d (ideally) like to get done on a day-to-day basis.  So I made this:

My Ideal Schedule

My Ideal Schedule

The full-size version is my laptop’s background.  Some things to note:

  • This is obviously going to change when Jake starts pre-school/activities
  • This is an IDEAL schedule.  I’m not going to beat myself up about staying in pjs a little longer some days, or if Jake’s not in the best mood for morning errands.  Honestly, I don’t have many errands to run, so there are days we just stay at home.
  • The evening schedule is odd because my husband works 12-hour days and doesn’t get home until it’s almost Jake’s bedtime.  We always eat together, and Jake eats at 6pm.  Would I like us to all eat together?  Absolutely, but that’s a whole other post.  We’ll chat about that at a later date.  At some point I’ll switch to eating dinner with Jake, and Dad will just have to deal with re-heating a plate. 😉
  • “Daily Cleaning Task” refers to The Fly Lady method.  Her site has changed my thoughts on the cleaning process, and makes life quite a bit easier.  I am not a cleaning marathon kind of person; I get frustrated and never finish when I start.  I could go into a whole other post just on Fly Lady, but I won’t.  Check out the site and see for yourself.  I don’t follow it precisely, but a little work everyday gets the job done.
  • “Projects” refers to something around the house that needs to be done.  On the list right now: Hang picture frames, Jake’s Second Yearbook, Organize Goodwill run, etc.  It is a never-ending and changing list.

As I said before, it’s not a big deal if the schedule isn’t followed exactly, but it’s nice to see what I’d ideally like to get done each day right there in front of me.  I’ve never been good with keeping lists or daily planners, so this is my modification.

Other things on my mind right now:

  • Jake needs other kids around.  I don’t have friends with kids his age and he’s not getting other kid interaction.  I’ve been looking at some Mommy’s Day Out programs (2 days/week), but I just don’t know.  Most are religiously affiliated, and I don’t know how I feel about that.  Plus, he’s never been in a structured setting, and I worry about that.  I feel like if he’s more…rambunctious than most that I might have done something wrong.  But I also know that he needs that environment.